home

Welcome to the North Carolina World Languages Wiki
WLwiki.UpdatedLogo.jpg

World Language study benefits all students. The study of another language leads to higher scores on standardized tests (reading, math, SAT), greater cognitive development in the areas of mental flexibility, creativity, divergent thinking and higher-order thinking skills, a broader English vocabulary, a better understanding of one’s own language and culture, and enhanced career opportunities.


Please download the most recent World Languages in North Carolina document (March 2017) with statewide enrollment information, program highlights, and other data.


Language-specific versions of these materials are compiled upon request.

Here are some recent examples: Chinese (July 2017), German (April 2017), Spanish (December 2016).


This wiki is used to share information, resources, materials and policies to implement the proficiency-based North Carolina World Language Essential Standards.

Please explore the site, download materials, and share any suggestions or questions with Ann Marie Gunter, World Languages Consultant, at ann.gunter@dpi.nc.gov.



NCDPI World Languages Staff



Language Advisors serving the Southeast


Christie Lynch Ebert, Section Chief of K-12 Program Areas

Arts Education, ESL, School Counseling, World Languages

christie.lynchebert@dpi.nc.gov

Phone: 919-807-3856

CLEbert.JPG

French Consulate Office in Atlanta, Georgia


Alexandre Durand, French Education Advisor

alexandre.durand@diplomatie.gouv.fr


Thomas Tugulescu, Deputy Cultural Attaché

thomas.tugulescu@diplomatie.gouv.fr

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Ann Marie Gunter, World Languages Consultant

ann.gunter@dpi.nc.gov

Phone: 919-807-3865

AMGunter.jpg

Spanish Education Office in Tallahassee, Florida


Felix Gaspar Koch, Spanish Education Advisor

felix.gaspar@fldoe.org


Infographic: Spain - U.S. Relations (http://spainintheusa.org/)

Linda Crouch, Program Assistant for K-12 Program Areas

linda.crouch@dpi.nc.gov

Phone: 919-807-3861

Fax: 919-807-3823



Central Agency for Schools Abroad in Atlanta, Georgia

Michael Goettert, German Language Advisor/Coordinator

Atlanta@auslandsschulwesen.de

Michael Göttert.jpg